skip to contentskip to content

Student Clubs and Organizations

Currently Recognized ASCC Clubs & Organizations:


Applied Physics and Engineering Club
Advisor: Michael Threapleton, ext. 406 or michael.threapleton@centralia.edu

It is the purpose of the club is to educate, involve, and give students hands-on experience in their field of interest revolving around Physics and Engineering.

Art Club
Advisor: Alex Solomon, ext. 269 or alex.solomon@centralia.edu

The Art Club's goal is to engage with students by discussing art topics, exploring themes in are and how they relate to everyday life, and reviewing the works of other artist and how they inspire us. Students can also work on personal or group projects during the meetings. The club will be hosting in-house events and art shows for the public to view and appreciate during the academic year.

CCEOS (Centralia College East Organization of Students)
Advisor: Lynn Schinnell, ext. 380 or lynn.schinnell@centralia.edu

CCEOS provides students at CC East in Morton with student activities and programs, helps connect CC East students to the Centralia campus and to ASCC, reaches out to the local communities through activities and events and helps participants develop leadership and teambuilding skills.

Diesel Tech
Advisor: Jake Fay, ext. 306 or jake.fay@centralia.edu

This club is for enhancement of the student’s education through meetings, conferences, leadership, team work, training in areas related to diesel equipment and recreational activities including BBQ’s. The club currently is raising and contributing funds to building a scholarship endowment for future diesel students. The club has also sponsored field trips to PACCAR and Freightliner Test Centers, as well as to the Kenworth and Western Star Truck Assembly Plants.

Electronics Club
Advisor: David Peterson, ext. 407 or david.peterson@centralia.edu

The purpose of the Electronics Club is to provide field trips, lectures and experiences that enhance knowledge and employment opportunities of interested students.

Forensic Accounting Club
Advisor: Otto Rabe, ext. 330 or otto.rabe@centralia.edu

It is the purpose of the club to develop growth in accounting skills and knowledge of the professional culture, provide tax advisory assistance to the student body of Centralia College as well as the community at large, and create networking opportunity for students with law, accounting and tax professionals.

Gaming Club
Advisor: Mike Christensen, ext. 799 or michael.christensen@centralia.edu

It is the purpose of the Centralia College Gaming Club to provide a safe, local, and responsible environment for anyone who likes gaming.

Gender and Sexuality Alliance (GSA) Club
Advisor: Contact the Student Life & Involvement Center

The purpose of GSA is to provide education to the campus and greater surrounding community about Gay/Lesbian/Bisexual/Transgendered issues, to provide support to GLBT students in a safe environment and to plan social events for GLBT and straight allies.

International Network
Advisor: Margo Morales, ext. 625 or margo.morales@centralia.edu

The mission of International Network is to promote cultural activity, increase understanding and appreciation for cultural diversity, encourage activity that demonstrates civic, social and moral responsibility, and to nurture cooperative leadership in working with our fellow humans – regardless of race, international origin, color or socio-economic status. International Network meets weekly for guided discussions about global issues and current events affecting the international community. This group also hosts International Night, monthly Cultural Café’s (third Thursday of each month when school is in session), volunteers in the community, takes ski trips, trips to Seattle and Portland, and visits many other local attractions.

Latinos Unidos Club
Advisor: Mark Gorecki, ext. 455 or mark.gorecki@centralia.edu

To strive for educational, cultural, social and political representation for Latinos. As club members we will provide cultural events and be involved in outreach and community service. Membership is open to all CC students.

Media Club
Advisor: Wade Fisher, ext 327 or wade.fisher@centralia.edu

It is the purpose of the Centralia College Media Club to help educate students about creating media. Members will learn by working on video or radio projects, either independently or in a group effort.

Medical Assistant Club
Advisor: John Steidel, ext. 754 or john.steidel@centralia.edu

It is the purpose of the Medical Assistant Club to support fellow students who are in the Medical Assistant program and for outreach and education to the public about the program. Including any local, regional, or national affiliations with any other group.

Multicultural Club
Advisor: Jessica Ramirez, ext. 364, jessica.ramirez@centralia.edu

Multicultural Club seeks cultural diversity among the student population and is committed to recruiting and educating students from underrepresented populations at Centralia College. The clubs goals are to create a sense of belonging and to develop unity through diversity. This is done via community service, fund raising, social activity planning, community event programming and attending conferences throughout the Northwest.

Nursing Club
Advisor: Ellen Hinderlie, ext. 544 or ellen.hinderlie@centralia.edu

Organization of nursing students and pre-nursing students active in educating and promoting health and wellness in the community and on the campus. Social activities are also included.

Outdoor Club
Advisor: Roberta Ziegler, ext. 299 or roberta.ziegler@centralia.edu

The purpose for the Outdoor Club is to provide opportunities and get people interested in the outdoors; to educate our members in outdoor and conservation skills that will stay with them long after the excursions have ended; to share the beauty of the natural world around us and to feel the satisfaction that comes after outdoor activities in the great Pacific Northwest.

Phi Theta Kappa
Advisor: Dr. Jody Peterson, ext. 209 or jody.peterson@centralia.edu

The purpose of the Centralia College Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society of the Two-Year College, is to recognize and encourage scholastic excellence, provide service to the college and the community, provide opportunities to develop leadership skills and a spirit of solidarity among Phi Theta Kappans. The chapter name is Iota Omega. All Centralia College students who have completed 12 college level credits and have a cumulative grade point average of 3.4 or above are eligible for membership. PTK attends their regional conferences and the International Convention. Meets on the first and third Fridays of each month.

The Players
Advisor: Contact the Student Life & Involvement Center

The Players is a group of Centralia College students interested in furthering their involvement in the performing arts. Participation includes assisting campus productions on and/or off stage and annual trips to regional theatres from Seattle to Ashland, Oregon. The Players also participate in an every-other-year journey to New York City and Broadway.

Pro Musica
Advisor: Dr. Beth May, ext. 244 or beth.may@centralia.edu

Pro Musica is a student music club dedicated to:
  1. Assisting the Music Department at Centralia College with publicity of department concerts.
  2. Offering a musical outreach program in Lewis County.
  3. Assisting in raising scholarship funds for music majors.
  4. Providing performance opportunities for Centralia College students.
  5. Providing opportunities to attend performances off campus.

Psychology Club
Advisor: Dr. Sandra Neal, ext. 317 or sandra.neal@centralia.edu

The purpose of Psychology Club is to provide an interactive environment for students with a collective interest or career goal in psychology. Psychology Club encourages student involvement and learning through lectures, fundraisers, field trips, and research projects. We cater to a diverse group of students with a wide variety of interests.

Science Club
Advisors: Lisa Carlson, ext. 324 or lisa.carlson@centralia.edu and Karen Goodwin, ext. 346 or karen.goodwin@centralia.edu

The Science Club is a service and social organization open to all students, regardless of major, who are interested in any aspect of the sciences. The club promotes campus and community environmental awareness and interest in the sciences through field trips, environmental cleanups, fundraising efforts, and science demonstrations. The club meets on the 2nd and 4th Friday of every month at 1:00 pm in WSC 309.

Speech Club
Advisor: Jeff McQuarrie, ext. 539 or jeff.mcquarrie@centralia.edu

It is the purpose of the Speech Club to provide the students of Centralia College with an opportunity to practice and advance in their public speaking skills.

Spikeball Club
Advisor: Carrie Johnson, ext. 789 or carrie.johnson@centralia.edu

It is the purpose of the club to provide an opportunity for students to de-stress, exercise, practice teamwork, and have fun by playing Spikeball.

Tabletop Club
Advisor: Chris Carlson, ext. 438 or chris.carlson@centralia.edu

It is the purpose of the Tabletop Club to have a safe and inviting environment for all students to come and play games with people that share similar interests.

TRiO Club
Advisor: Cindy Broadbent, ext. 568 or cindy.broadbent@centralia.edu

To provide members an environment that fosters friendship and a spirit of understanding among all people of the diverse community in which we live, opportunities for community service; and the development of individual character and leadership skills. We seek to create positive change in ourselves, our organization and our community. To achieve these goals, all members are encouraged to take the initiative to lead and/or contribute to Centralia College and their community.

Vintage Wheels Club
Advisor: Rulon Crawford, ext. 762 or rulon.crawford@centralia.edu

It is the purpose of the Vintage Wheels club to get Centralia College students involved in fun and interesting activities pertaining to automotive care, basic mechanics, body work, information on rebuilding, regardless of whether they own a vehicle of their own, and to host a car show at the end of the school year.

Web Club
Advisor: Sam Small, ext. 363 or samuel.small@centralia.edu

The purpose of the club is to collaborate and strenthen relationships with students regarding technology, sprecifically computer programming and web development.

ASCC Recognition Policy:

The Associated Students of Centralia College (ASCC) recognize student clubs and organizations which will offer opportunities to meet new friends, satisfy special interests, make contributions to campus life, and contribute to the intellectual development of students. In order for a student club or organization to gain recognition from the ASCC, it must have an approved constitution, a staff member as an advisor, and be approved by the ASCC Student Government.

Clubs and organizations may be established, as hereafter provided, within the College for any legal purpose. A group shall become a club or organization when formally recognized by the ASCC Student Government. The following items must be submitted to the ASCC Senator for Clubs & Organizations:
  • Constitution, outline of structure, or organizational pattern;
  • Statement for financial structure;
  • Determination of application for club or organization status;
  • Outline of proposed activities;
  • Indication of student interest; and
  • Name and signature of college staff advisor.
Once these documents are in order, the group shall be considered for recognition. Clubs and organizations have the option of asking for funding from the ASCC.
SLIC logo

Student Center Building
Room 101
Office Hours: Mon-Fri, 8:00am-5:00pm
(unless otherwise posted)
(360) 736-9391, ext 224
activities@centralia.edu

SLIC Staff

Shelley K. Bannish, Director
(360) 736-9391, ext 224
shelley.bannish@centralia.edu

Jessica Ramirez,
Student Engagement Specialist/
Study Abroad
(360) 736-9391, ext. 364
jessica.ramirez@centralia.edu

Angie Preston, Office Asst
(360) 736-9391, ext 224
angie.preston@centralia.edu