skip to contentskip to content

Student Clubs and Organizations

Currently Recognized ASCC Clubs & Organizations:


Applied Physics and Engineering Club
Advisor: Michael Threapleton, ext. 406 or mthreapleton@centralia.edu

It is the purpose of the club is to educate, involve, and give students hands-on experience in their field of interest revolving around Physics and Engineering.

CCEOS (Centralia College East Organization of Students)
Advisor: Lynn Schinnell, ext. 380 or lschinnell@centralia.edu

CCEOS provides students at CC East in Morton with student activities and programs, helps connect CC East students to the Centralia campus and to ASCC, reaches out to the local communities through activities and events and helps participants develop leadership and teambuilding skills.

Diesel Tech
Advisor: Jacob Fay, ext. 306 or jfay@centralia.edu

This club is for enhancement of the student’s education through meetings, conferences, leadership, team work, training in areas related to diesel equipment and recreational activities including BBQ’s. The club has also sponsored field trips to PACCAR and Freightliner Test Centers, as well as to the Kenworth and Western Star Truck Assembly Plants.

Electronics Club
Advisor: David Peterson, ext. 485 or dpeterson@centralia.edu

The purpose of the Electronics Club is to provide field trips, lectures and experiences that enhance knowledge and employment opportunities of interested students.

Forensic Accounting Club
Advisor: Otto Rabe, ext. 330 or orabe@centralia.edu

It is the purpose of the club to develop growth in accounting skills and knowledge of the professional culture, provide tax advisory assistance to the student body of Centralia College as well as the community at large, and create networking opportunity for students with law, accounting and tax professionals.

GSA Club (Gay Straight Alliance)
Advisor: Penny Martindale, ext. 269 or pmartindale@centralia.edu

The purpose of GSA is to provide education to the campus and greater surrounding community about Gay/Lesbian/Bisexual/Transgendered issues, to provide support to GLBT students in a safe environment and to plan social events for GLBT and straight allies.

International Network
Advisor: Amanda Mobbs, ext. 625 or amobbs@centralia.edu

The mission of International Network is to promote cultural activity, increase understanding and appreciation for cultural diversity, encourage activity that demonstrates civic, social and moral responsibility, and to nurture cooperative leadership in working with our fellow humans – regardless of race, international origin, color or socio-economic status. International Networking meets weekly for guided discussions about global issues and current events affecting the international community. This group is also involved with the International Night, monthly Cultural Café’s (third Thursday of each month when school is in session), takes ski trips, trips to Seattle and Portland, and other local attractions.

Media Club
Advisor: Wade Fisher, ext 327 or wfisher@centralia.edu

It is the purpose of the Centralia College Media Club to help educate students about creating media. Members will learn by working on video or radio projects, either independently or in a group effort.

Latinos Unidos Club
Advisor: Judith Aguilar, ext. 696 or jaguilar@centralia.edu

To strive for educational, cultural, social and political representation for Latinos. As club members we will provide cultural events and be involved in outreach and community service. Membership is open to all CC students.

Nursing Club
Advisor: Nola Ormrod, ext. 449 or normrod@centralia.edu

Organization of nursing students and pre-nursing students active in educating and promoting health and wellness in the community and on the campus. Social activities are also included.

Outdoors Club
Advisor: Carrie Johnson, ext. 789 or cjohnson@centralia.edu and Roberta Ziegler, ext. 299

The purpose for the Outdoor Club is to provide opportunities and get people interested in the outdoors; to educate our members in outdoor and conservation skills that will stay with them long after the excursions have ended; to share the beauty of the natural world around us and to feel the satisfaction that comes after outdoor activities in the great Pacific Northwest.

Phi Theta Kappa
Advisor: Dr. Jody Peterson, ext. 209 or jpeterson@centralia.edu

The purpose of the Centralia College Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society of the Two-Year College, is to recognize and encourage scholastic excellence, provide service to the college and the community, provide opportunities to develop leadership skills and a spirit of solidarity among Phi Theta Kappans. The chapter name is Iota Omega. All Centralia College students who have completed 12 college level credits and have a cumulative grade point average of 3.4 or above are eligible for membership. PTK attends their regional conferences and the International Convention. Meets first and third Fridays of each month. More info at http://www.centraliaptk.org.

The Players
Advisor: Brian Tyrrell, ext. 301 or btyrrell@centralia.edu

The Players is a group of Centralia College students interested in furthering their involvement in the performing arts. Participation includes assisting campus productions on and/or off stage and annual trips to regional theatres from Seattle to Ashland, Oregon. The Players also participate in an every-other-year journey to New York City and Broadway.

Pro Musica
Advisor: Dr. Donna Huffman, ext. 244 or dhuffman@centralia.edu

Pro Musica is a student music club dedicated to:
  1. Assisting the Music Department at Centralia College with publicity of department concerts.
  2. Offering a musical outreach program in Lewis County.
  3. Assisting in raising scholarship funds for music majors.
  4. Providing performance opportunities for Centralia College students.
  5. Providing opportunities to attend performances off campus.
Psychology Club
Advisor: Dr. Sandra Neal, ext. 317 or sneal@centralia.edu

The purpose of Psychology Club is to provide an interactive environment for students with a collective interest or career goal in psychology. Psychology Club encourages student involvement and learning through lectures, fundraisers, field trips, and research projects. We cater to a diverse group of students with a wide variety of interests.

Rotaract
Advisor: Connie Smejkal, ext. 522 or csmejkal@centralia.edu

The purpose of this group is to provide an opportunity for men and women to enhance the knowledge and skills that will assist them in personal development, to address the physical and social needs of their communities, and to promote better relations between all people through a framework of friendship and service.

Science Club
Advisors: Lisa Carlson, ext. 324 or lcarlson@centralia.edu and Karen Goodwin, ext. 346 or kgoodwin@centralia.edu

The Science Club is a service and social organization open to all students, regardless of major, who are interested in any aspect of the sciences. The club promotes campus and community environmental awareness and interest in the sciences through field trips, environmental cleanups, fundraising efforts, and science demonstrations.

Student Veterans Association
Advisor: Tadd Belden, ext. 656 or tbelden@centralia.edu

To provide assistance to veterans and their families with transitioning from warriors to citizens. To support, educate, and provide resources to veterans and their families on all available benefits that they are eligible for. To sustain a professional and welcoming atmosphere for veteran and non-veteran students. Ensure for the needs of overall wellness of student veterans. To Formulate success through broadening students’ self-image and providing motivation to succeed. To provide a network and an atmosphere of fellowship and camaraderie for students.

Students for Life
Advisor: Gina Sterner, ext. 375 or gsterner@centralia.edu

Members Students for Life work to save lives threatened by induced abortion, euthanasia and destruction of human embryos for research. In furtherance of these goals, members seek to promote respect for life at Centralia College and in the surrounding community, to educate on life issues, to help those in need so that life is a promising choice and to work with others who share common goals.

TRiO Club
Advisor: Cindy Broadbent, ext. 568 or cbroadbent@centralia.edu

To provide members an environment that fosters friendship and a spirit of understanding among all people of the diverse community in which we live, opportunities for community service; and the development of individual character and leadership skills. We seek to create positive change in ourselves, our organization and our community. To achieve these goals, all members are encouraged to take the initiative to lead and/or contribute to Centralia College and their community.

ASCC Recognition Policy:

The Associated Students of Centralia College (ASCC) recognize student clubs and organizations which will offer opportunities to meet new friends, satisfy special interests, make contributions to campus life, and contribute to the intellectual development of students. In order for a student club or organization to gain recognition from the ASCC, it must have an approved constitution, a staff member as an advisor, and be approved by the ASCC Student Government.

Clubs and organizations may be established, as hereafter provided, within the College for any legal purpose. A group shall become a club or organization when formally recognized by the ASCC Student Government. The following items must be submitted to the ASCC Senator for Clubs & Organizations:
  • Constitution, outline of structure, or organizational pattern;
  • Statement for financial structure;
  • Determination of application for club or organization status;
  • Outline of proposed activities;
  • Indication of student interest; and
  • Name and signature of college staff advisor.
Once these documents are in order, the group shall be considered for recognition. Clubs and organizations have the option of asking for funding from the ASCC.
SLIC logo

Student Center Building Rm 101
Office Hours: Mon-Fri, 7:30am-5:00pm (unless otherwise posted)
(360) 736-9391, ext 224
activities@centralia.edu

SLIC Staff

Shelley K. Bannish, Director
(360) 736-9391, ext 224
sbannish@centralia.edu

Jessica Ramirez,
Student Engagement Specialist/
Study Abroad
(360) 736-9391, ext. 364
jramirez@centralia.edu

Angie Preston, Office Asst
(360) 736-9391, ext 224
apreston@centralia.edu