skip to contentskip to content

Student Clubs and Organizations


Social/Recreational Student Groups

Chess Club
Advisor: David Tonn, david.tonn@centralia.edu
The purpose of Chess Club is to provide an avenue for those who enjoy the game and strategy of chess to play and compete.

Gaming Club
Advisor: Mike Christensen, michael.christensen@centralia.edu
It is the purpose of the Centralia College Gaming Club to provide a safe, local, and responsible environment for anyone who likes gaming.

Outdoor Club
(Club of the Year 2014-15)
Advisor: Roberta Ziegler, roberta.zeigler@centralia.edu
The purpose for the Outdoor Club is to provide opportunities and get people interested in the outdoors; to educate our members in outdoor and conservation skills that will stay with them long after the excursions have ended; to share the beauty of the natural world around us and to feel the satisfaction that comes after outdoor activities in the great Pacific Northwest.

Spikeball
Advisor: Carrie Johnson, carrie.johnson@centralia.edu
It is the purpose of the club to provide an opportunity for students to de-stress, exercise, practice teamwork, and have fun by playing Spikeball.

Service/Educational Student Groups

CCEOS (Centralia College East Organization of Students)
(Organization of the Year 2007-08)
Advisor: Lynn Schinnell, lynn.schinnell@centralia.edu
CCEOS provides students at CC East in Morton with student activities and programs, helps connect CC East students to the Centralia campus and to ASCC, reaches out to the local communities through activities and events and helps participants develop leadership and teambuilding skills.

Phi Theta Kappa
(Organization of the Year 1994-95, 1999-00, 2005-06 & 2012-13)
Advisor: Dr. Jody Peterson, jody.peterson@centralia.edu
The purpose of the Centralia College Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society of the Two-Year College, is to recognize and encourage scholastic excellence, provide service to the college and the community, provide opportunities to develop leadership skills and a spirit of solidarity among Phi Theta Kappans. The chapter name is Iota Omega. All Centralia College students who have completed 12 college level credits and have a cumulative grade point average of 3.4 or above are eligible for membership. PTK attends their regional conferences and the International Convention. Meets on first and third Fridays of each month.

TRiO Club
(Organization of the Year 2006-07, 2013-14)
Advisor: Cindy Broadbent, cindy.broadbent@centralia.edu
To provide members an environment that fosters friendship and a spirit of understanding among all people of the diverse community in which we live, opportunities for community service; and the development of individual character and leadership skills. We seek to create positive change in ourselves, our organization and our community. To achieve these goals, all members are encouraged to take the initiative to lead and/or contribute to Centralia College and their community.

Multicultural/Diversity Student Groups

Gender and Sexuality Alliance (GSA) Club
Advisor: Alex Solomon, alex.solomon@centralia.edu
The purpose of GSA is to provide education to the campus and greater surrounding community about Gay/Lesbian/Bisexual/Transgendered issues, to provide support to GLBT students in a safe environment and to plan social events for GLBT and straight allies.

K-Culture Club
Advisor: Ruth Woodcock, ruth.woodcock@centralia.edu
The purpose of the K-Culture club is to create an awareness of and learn more about the Korean Culture.

International Network
(Organization of the Year 1995-96, 1997-98, 2001-02, 2002-03, & 2004-05)
Advisor: Laju Nankani, laju.nankani@centralia.edu
The mission of International Network is to promote cultural activity, increase understanding and appreciation for cultural diversity, encourage activity that demonstrates civic, social and moral responsibility, and to nurture cooperative leadership in working with our fellow humans – regardless of race, international origin, color or socio-economic status. International Network meets weekly for guided discussions about global issues and current events affecting the international community. This group also hosts International Night, monthly Cultural Café’s (third Thursday of each month when school is in session), volunteers in the community, takes ski trips, trips to Seattle and Portland, and visits many other local attractions.

Latinxs Unidos Club
(Club of the Year 2009-10)
Advisor: Mark Gorecki, mark.gorecki@centralia.edu
To strive for educational, cultural, social and political representation for Latinos. As club members we will provide cultural events and be involved in outreach and community service. Membership is open to all CC students.

Multicultural Club
(Club of the Year 2015-16)
Advisors: Jessica Ramirez, jessica.ramirez@centralia.edu
Multicultural Club seeks cultural diversity among the student population and is committed to recruiting and educating students from underrepresented populations at Centralia College. The clubs goals are to create a sense of belonging and to develop unity through diversity. This is done via community service, fund raising, social activity planning, community event programming and attending conferences throughout the Northwest.

Program Based Student Groups

Applied Physics and Engineering Club
Advisor: Michael Threapleton, michael.threapleton@centralia.edu
It is the purpose of the club is to educate, involve, and give students hands-on experience in their field of interest revolving around Physics and Engineering

Art Club
Advisor: Liz Frey, liz.frey@centralia.edu
The Art Club’s goal is to engage with students by discussing art topics, exploring themes in are and how they relate to everyday life, and reviewing the works of other artist and how they inspire us. Students can also work on personal or group projects during the meetings. The club will be hosting in-house events and art shows for the public to view and appreciate during the academic year.

Diesel Tech
(Organization of the Year 1993-94 & 1996-97)
Advisor: Jake Fay, jake.fay@centralia.edu
This club is for enhancement of the student’s education through meetings, conferences, leadership, team work, training in areas related to diesel equipment and recreational activities including BBQ’s. The club currently is raising and contributing funds to building a scholarship endowment for future diesel students. The club has also sponsored field trips to PACCAR and Freightliner Test Centers, as well as to the Kenworth and Western Star Truck Assembly Plants.

Electronics Club
(Organization of the Year 2014-15)
Advisor: David Peterson, david.peterson@centralia.edu
The purpose of the Electronics Club is to provide field trips, lectures and experiences that enhance knowledge and employment opportunities of interested students.

Forensic Accounting Club
Advisor: Otto Rabe, otto.rabe@centralia.edu
It is the purpose of the club to develop growth in accounting skills and knowledge of the professional culture, provide tax advisory assistance to the student body of Centralia College as well as the community at large, and create networking opportunity for students with law, accounting and tax professionals.

Media Club
Advisor: Wade Fisher, wade.fisher@centralia.edu
It is the purpose of the Centralia College Media Club to help educate students about creating media. Members will learn by working on video or radio projects, either independently or in a group effort.

Medical Assistant Club
Advisor: Tara Boerner, tara.boerner@centralia.edu
It is the purpose of the Medical Assistant Club to support fellow students who are in the Medical Assistant program and for outreach and education to the public about the program. Including any local, regional, or national affiliations with any other group.

Nursing Club
Contact: Ellen Hinderlie, ellen.hinderlie@centralia.edu
Organization of nursing students and pre-nursing students active in educating and promoting health and wellness in the community and on the campus. Social activities are also included.

The Players
Advisor: Emmy Kreilkamp, emmy.kreilkamp@centralia.edu
The Players is a group of Centralia College students interested in furthering their involvement in the performing arts. Participation includes assisting campus productions on and/or off stage and annual trips to regional theatres from Seattle to Ashland, Oregon.

Pro Musica and Pep Band
(Organization of the Year 1998-99)
Advisor: Dr. Beth May, beth.may@centralia.edu
Pro Musica is a student music club dedicated to:
  • Assisting the Music Department at Centralia College with publicity of department concerts
  • Offering a musical outreach program in Lewis County
  • Providing performance opportunities for Centralia College students
  • Providing opportunities to attend performances off campus

Programming Club
Advisor: Gordon Gul, gordon.gul@centralia.edu
The purpose of the club is to collaborate and strengthen relationships with students regarding technology, specifically computer programming and web development.

Psychology Club
Advisor: To Be Named
The purpose of Psychology Club is to provide an interactive environment for students with a collective interest or career goal in psychology. Psychology Club encourages student involvement and learning through lectures, fundraisers, field trips, and research projects. We cater to a diverse group of students with a wide variety of interests.

Science Club
Advisor: Karen Goodwin, karen.goodwin@centralia.edu
The Science Club is a service and social organization open to all students, regardless of major, who are interested in any aspect of the sciences. The club promotes campus and community environmental awareness and interest in the sciences through field trips, environmental cleanups, fundraising efforts, and science demonstrations. The club meets on the 2nd and 4th Fridays of every month at 1:00 pm in WSC 309.

Speech Club
Advisor: Jeff McQuarrie, jeff.mcquarrie@centralia.edu
It is the purpose of the Speech Club to provide the students of Centralia College with an opportunity to practice and advance in their public speaking skills.

ASCC Recognition Policy:

The Associated Students of Centralia College (ASCC) recognize student clubs and organizations which will offer opportunities to meet new friends, satisfy special interests, make contributions to campus life, and contribute to the intellectual development of students. In order for a student club or organization to gain recognition from the ASCC, it must have an approved constitution, a staff member as an advisor, and be approved by the ASCC Student Government.

Clubs and organizations may be established, as hereafter provided, within the College for any legal purpose. A group shall become a club or organization when formally recognized by the ASCC Student Government. The following items must be submitted to the ASCC Senator for Clubs & Organizations:
  • Constitution, outline of structure, or organizational pattern;
  • Statement for financial structure;
  • Determination of application for club or organization status;
  • Outline of proposed activities;
  • Indication of student interest; and
  • Name and signature of college staff advisor.
Once these documents are in order, the group shall be considered for recognition. Clubs and organizations have the option of asking for funding from the ASCC.
SLIC logo

Student Center Room 101
7:30am-5pm Mon-Fri
(unless otherwise posted)

360-623-8972
activities@centralia.edu

SLIC Staff

Shelley K. Bannish
Director
360-623-8120
shelley.bannish@centralia.edu

Jessica Ramirez
Student Engagement Specialist
360-623-8586
jessica.ramirez@centralia.edu

Cole Brown
Office Assistant
360-623-8583
coleen.brown@centralia.edu