skip to contentskip to content

Board of Trustees
Community College District 12

Stuart Halsan
Stuart Halsan
Mark Scheibmeir_web
Mark Scheibmeir
Vice Chair
Debbie Campbell
Debbie Campbell
Doris Wood
Jim Lowery
Jim Lowery

Click here for Meeting Agendas, Schedules, Minutes

Click here for Reports to the Board


The Washington State Legislature has created thirty community and technical college districts to provide direction for Washington's thirty-four community and technical colleges. Each district is governed by a Board of Trustees. Each member is appointed to serve a five-year term. Boards observe the general statutes of the state of Washington and the policies and regulations governing community and technical colleges approved by the State Board for Community and Technical Colleges. The duties and powers of the Boards are prescribed in RCW 28B.50.100, RCW 28B.50.140, and RCW 28B.50.142.

Centralia College Board

The Centralia College Board functions under a set of bylaws, which it has adopted. The Board elects officers each year including a chair who conducts Board meetings. The President of Centralia College serves as Secretary to the Board.

Selection Process

Individuals interested in serving on the Board are asked to complete a Board and Commission application and submit it to the Office of the Governor. Appointments are made by the Governor and confirmed by the State Senate.

Selection Criteria

In making such appointments the Governor shall give consideration to geographical exigencies, and the interests of labor, industry, agriculture, the professions and ethnic groups. Every trustee shall be a resident and qualified elector of the community college district. No trustee may be an employee of the community college system, a member of the board of directors of any school district, or a member of the governing board of any public or private educational institution.

Service Area

Centralia College is the single college of Community College District Twelve. The service area of Community College District Twlelve includes all of Lewis and South Thurston counties encompassing the Centralia, Rochester and Tenino School Districts. The main campus is located at 600 Centralia College Blvd in Centralia. Classes are also offered at Centralia College East in Morton and at various sites throughout the District.